If so, you may be entitled to personal injury compensation to cover your physical, emotional, and financial damages.
Not sure where to start?
Whether you are negotiating with an insurance company for a settlement or considering filing a lawsuit, it is important that you understand the specific Tennessee laws influencing the outcome of your case.
For instance, did you know that Tennessee has a statute of limitations which sets a limit on the amount of time you have to file a court case after an injury?
Or, were you aware that the state’s comparative fault laws can dramatically decrease your damages?
If this sounds overwhelming to you, we have good news!
A personal injury attorney can walk you through every step of the legal process from start to finish to ensure you receive the damages that you deserve to cover lost wages, medical bills, pain, and suffering.
If you have been injured in an accident, it can be overwhelming to figure out the best course of action, especially when you have insurance companies asking you to settle for less than you deserve.
During this stressful time, it is important to find an experienced personal injury attorney that can walk you through every step of your personal injury case.
The process typically begins with your attorney investigating the incident and reviewing all medical records and evidence related to the accident. After this, your attorney will be able to either negotiate a settlement with the insurance company OR file a lawsuit.
If your attorney decides a lawsuit is the best course of action, they will be by your side through the entire case, from beginning to end — including the discovery process, mediation, or trial — ensuring that justice is served and that you are fairly compensated for any injuries, pain, or suffering brought on by your accident.
At Ken Phillips Law, we specialize in a wide range of personal injury areas, including:
– Auto accidents
– Slip and fall accidents
– Construction accidents
– Premises liability
– Product liability
– Bicycle accidents
– Motorcycle accidents
– Trucking accidents
– Boating Accidents
– Dog bites
– And more!
Our team has years of experience working on personal injury cases in the local courts and will be able to provide you with the expert advice that you need to WIN.
Contact the team at Ken Phillips Law today for experienced personal injury attorneys.
After years of fighting for our clients we’ve seen it all, which is why we’ve created this section to answer the most frequently asked questions we hear about personal injury in Tennessee.
As mentioned above, according to Tennessee’s statute of limitations laws, you have one year from the date of an accident to file a lawsuit. Because of this, it is important to seek legal advice as soon as possible, to avoid running out of time to file. Other factors can lengthen or shorten these time limits. That is why it is important to connect with a licensed attorney as soon as possible.
In the state of Tennessee, courts are required to adhere to comparative fault rules. This means that if you are proven to be at fault in any way for your accident, your damages can be reduced or even eliminated.
For example, if you have stopped your car at a red light and are rear ended, but one of your brake lights were out, a court might rule that you are 20 percent at fault for the accident. This means that your damages will, in turn, be reduced by 20 percent. Therefore if the court awards you $5,000 in damages, they are reduced by 20 percent ($1,000), and you are only able to collect 80 percent ($4,000).
Evidence is critical to winning any personal injury lawsuit, and it is important to know what information to collect at the site of an injury. This information varies depending on the type of accident.
If you are in an auto accident, it is essential to call the police, who will create an accident report that details everything a court needs to know to determine fault.
Depending on the type of accident, you should also attempt to preserve or document any physical evidence, such as a bloody piece of clothing, a broken floorboard, or a shattered car window.
Finally, you should also consider taking photos or even video footage of the scene of the incident if it is in a public space.
If you are meeting with a personal injury attorney, you want to provide them with the most information possible, so that they can provide the best legal advice that they can. Some key information to gather prior to your first appointment includes:
– A copy of the accident report
– A copy of any relevant insurance policies (auto, home, renter’s, etc.)
– Any witness statements
– All correspondence from insurance companies
– Any medical bills you have incurred from the accident
– Names and addresses of everyone involved in the accident
– Names and contact information of any witnesses
– Name and contact details for any insurance adjustors that you have spoken to regarding the incident
– Dates you missed work due to the accident
– Any information and records regarding medical care that resulted from the accident
Note: while this information can help build your case, it is not mandatory. A case can still be built for you even if you only have some of these items.
If you have any questions about a personal injury case our team is more than happy to help! You can contact us by phone or email.
If you’ve been injured through no fault of your own, our team of expert personal injury attorneys is here to help! We can assist you in determining your legal options, collecting damages, negotiating settlements, or filing a case in the appropriate court if necessary.
Contact our helpful team today and let us fight for you!